21st Century Bhagavad Gita

Manifest your ideal life through the Bhagavad Gita…

Category: Personal Weaknesses

The senses & the outer universe

We can only perceive the outer world through the 5 senses of sight, smell, sound, touch and taste. There is a sixth most important sense of feelings, the heart principle or Chitta intuition.

Meditation gets us in touch with the sixth more powerful sense which comes from the larger universe and has no connection with the 5 material senses. It is this sixth sense that is the key to the inner universe, the Atman, the Soul. It connects us with the spirit of existence.


The Gunas or Natures triune character

Sanskrit / Hindi English Satvik Rajasik Tamsik
Good / Expanding Activating Evil / Obstructing
Gyan Knowledge One Indestructible / undivided Spirit in all existence Different & distinct varied from one another, separateness Untrue/delusion/ stifled conscience, without reason
Kar Action / work Non Attached to the fruit, done without either love or hatred/ raga dveshNatural Process Longing for satisfaction of desires, donewith great insistent Effort Without thought, harmful to self & others, fickle, based on sensory joy.
Karta Ego/ Character/Doer/Agent Untouched by egotism or desire of fulfillment, filled with enthusiasm & firmness Attached, passion, greedy & emotional Conscienceless, arrogant, cheating, lazy, malicious
Buddhi Intelligence / Understanding Understands Dharma / rightful duty, has power of discrimination Dharma & Adharma is distorted, coloured by prejudices Ignorant of any Duty & bound by excessive living, bringing sorrow.
Dhriti Strength of mind/resolve/ fortitude/ patience Yoga for restraining the wayward oscillation of the mind & senses. Bound by duty but also the fruit of all desires & wealth. Conceited, fearful, sleepy, depressed, filled with negativity
Sukham Experience/HappinessSupreme Bliss From perceptive Discrimination arises a Self Realization, discipline is hard at first; lives a life of high idealsFirst poison then nectar, prasada. Based on sensory pleasures of the MBS, joy of possessing material objectsFirst nectar then poison First poison and later also poisonLack of any control, always excessive
Notes: There is no being on earth or in heaven (devas) who is completely free from SRT gunas.

Faith under control of the Gunas/Nature

There are three types of faith:
Tamasic faith which is because of dullness. Like when you do not want to take responsibility or action and you say, “Oh it doesn’t matter, anyway God will take care of all these things!” (laughter)
Rajasic faith which is brought on by intense compulsion of desires and ambition. The ambition keeps the faith alive.
Satvic faith is innocent and is born out of fullness of consciousness.
Faith and alertness, though apparently opposite in nature, are actually complementary to each other. In the absence of faith, there can be no growth, and there can be no correct understanding without alertness. Faith can make you complacent. Alertness makes you tense.
If there is no faith, there is fear. And when there is no alertness, one cannot perceive or express properly. A combination of both is essential.
In Gyana (state of wisdom) there is alertness without tension and faith without complacency. The purpose of education should be to remove the element of dullness from faith and the element of fear from alertness. This is a unique and rare combination. If you have faith and alertness at the same time, then you will become a true Gyani (the Wise One)!

the 6 destructive emotions

Kama (desire), Krodha (anger), Lobha (greed), Moha (attachment, ignorance, delusion), Mada (false pride) and Matsarya (envy/jealousy). Material desire satisfaction leads us towards a dangerous downward spiral. Frustration & Anger result if desires are not satisfied. Greed creates more desires. Obsessive attachment to material possessions or relationships creates an ignorant delusion. Pride in our perceived position in society leads to Ahankar (Ego). Jealousy is self inflicted pain &  as we envy the happiness of others it results in unhappiness.

The Kauravas

  1. Material Desire 2.Anger 3.Greed 4.Lust 5.Avarice 6.Hate 7.Jealousy 8. Wickedness 9.Sex attachment 10. Abuse 11. Promiscuity 12. Dishonesty 13. Meanness 14. Cruelty 15. Ill will 16. Desire to hurt others 17. Unkindness 18. Harsh Speech 19. Harsh Thoughts 20. Impatience 21. Covetousness 22. Selfishness 23. Hoarding 24. Arrogance25. Conceit 26. Pride of Caste 27. Pride of social birth 28. Racial Pride 29. False sense of delicacy 30. High handedness 31. Saucy temper 32. Impudence 33. Ill feeling 34. Quarrelsome attitude 35. Inharmoniousness 36. Revengeful 37. Extreme sensitivity 38. Physical Laziness 39. Lack of initiative 40. Cowardice 41. Absentmindednes 42. Carelessness 43.  Mental Sloth 44. Excessiveness 45. Spiritual indifference 46. Unwillingness to meditate 47. Spiritual procrastination 48. Impurity of Body. 49. Impurity of Mind 50. Impurity of Soul 51. Disloyalty to God 52. Ungratefulness to god 53. Stupidity 54. Mental Weakness 55. Disease consciousness56. Lack of vision 57. Lack of foresight 58. Physical Ignorance 59. Mental Ignorance 60. Spiritual Ignorance 61. Littleness of Mind 62. Impulsiveness 63. Fickle Mindedness 64. Sense attachment65. Enjoyment of seeing evil 66. Listening to evil  67. Tasting Evil 68. Smelling Evil 69. Touching Evil 70. Thinking evil thoughts 71. Willing evil 72. Feeling Evil 73. Speaking Evil 74. Remembering evil 75. Doing Evil 76. Fear of Disease 77. Fear of Death 78. Worry 79. Superstitions 80. Swearing 81. Immoderation 82. Too much sleep 83. Too much eating 84. Dissimulation 85. Pretence of being Good 86. Partiality or unfairness 87. Doubt 88. Moroseness89. Pessimism 90. Bitterness 91. Dissatisfaction 92. Shunning God 93. Postponing Meditation 94. Underage sex. 95. Blaming Others 96.  Illegal activity 97. Buying stolen goods 98. Revealing secrets.99. Destructive Instinct (Duryodhan)100. Bad Ruler. (Dusashan)

Kaurava Negativities Explained- The war within the Self.

Dhritrasthra- The Blind Mind

Bhisma Pitama- The Ego

Duryodhana – Conductor of  Dur-difficult Yudh-Warfare (The King of Material desire)

Drona- Sanskara – Past impressions of the subconscious mind (habits)

Kripa- Avidya– Ignorance, Delusion.

Karna- Raaga– Attachment Vikarna-Dvesha- Repulsion

The 100 Kaurava’s have 100 negativities/weaknesses associated with their names. These negativities are within us.  Percentage varies from person to person. Our quest must remain to be alert, aware and fight these! Kurukshetra is the body, and the war is within!

The 100 Negativities of the Kaurava’s: The war within.